HE SURVIVED the destruction of Sodom, but Lot didn’t seem very happy about it.

This week, we discuss the aftermath of the fiery destruction of the cities of the plain, which also leveled Jericho, according to archaeologists. Lot and his daughters retreated into the hills and lived a hermit-like existence in a cave overlooking the eastern shore of the Dead Sea. Their isolation led to the incestuous creation of the nations of Moab and Ammon, longtime enemies of Israel in the centuries that followed.

Then we discuss Abraham’s deception of Abimelech, the king of Gerar, and one of the stranger events in the Bible, the binding of Isaac. Why would Abraham agree to God’s test, to the point that his knife was out, ready to “slaughter”—a Hebrew term (shachat) used elsewhere in the Old Testament for human sacrifice—his only son by Sarah?

Here is the timeline Derek mentioned during the study. Bear in mind that these dates are not universally accepted and mainly show the sequence of events.

* Amorite kingdom of Babylon founded — 1894 BC
* Abraham arrives in Canaan — 1876 BC
* Destruction of Sodom — 1852 BC
* Isaac born to Sarah — 1851 BC
* Isaac marries Rebekah — 1811 BC
* Hammurabi crowned king of Babylon — 1792 BC
* Jacob and Esau born — 1791 BC
* Abraham dies — 1776 BC
* Hyksos (Amorites) rule Lower Egypt — c. 1750 BC
* Jacob arrives in Egypt — 1661 BC
* Ahmose drives Hyksos out of Egypt — c. 1550 BC
* Moses leads the Exodus — 1446 BC
* Joshua leads the Conquest — 1406 BC*
Our latest book Veneration is now available for Amazon’s Kindle e-book reader! Click here and find out why readers rate Veneration 4.7 out of 5, described as “a must read” that “opens up...the Bible’s hidden mysteries.” (https://amzn.to/3bobuY6)
Check the website for links to some of our favorite Bible study tools! And please, take advantage of our free mobile app for iOS and Android. Links to the iTunes App Store and Google Play are on the main page at www.GilbertHouse.org.
'Realms of the Dead,’ the sixth in Sharon's series of supernatural thrillers The Redwing Saga, is available now at Amazon! See www.TheRedwingSaga.com for more information.

For the complete Gilbert House Fellowship archive, go to www.spreaker.com/show/gilbert-house-fellowship.